Number Fifty-One

Tealiberasophoterianistic Perspectives

The anti-Fight Club: An Endorsement of the Establishment

with 8 comments

By Joey Phillips

 I am endorsing Mitt Romney.

I will now go light myself on fire.[1] I will keep this brief, so I don’t have time to talk myself out of it. Here is why I am endorsing Mitt Romney.

  1. He’s the best politician in the republican field. He’s smart and well spoken and knows how to run a campaign. He is going to end up raising the most money and probably win the nomination. Might as well start getting used to the idea of voting for him now.
  2. He has the best chance to beat Obama. We could argue whether being moderate will help or hurt him in the general election, but either way I think for the reasons listed above he has a shot at beating Obama, which I am not convinced any of the other candidates have.
  3. I mostly like him on economics.

I am not excited about this endorsement for a number of reasons, the main one being that Romney isn’t really conservative in a lot of ways. Dionne (writer for the Washington Post, and liberal) says that Romney’s best asset is his ideological flexibility. Great. “Vote for me, I’ll change my core beliefs anytime!” On healthcare he is eerily similar to Obama. I wish we could elect him as the economics President and Herman Cain for everything else. On abortion you can either say (a) he doesn’t have a belief so he just adopts whatever position is politically expedient at the time or (b) he is very confused. Neither answer is comforting.  In fact, nothing about Romney makes me comfortable voting for him. I am trying to justify it because I am resigned to him winning the nomination. Is this the worst endorsement ever? Yes.

Forget it, I endorse Tim Pawlenty.  


[1] Bill Simmons™

Written by Jake Phillips

June 29, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “I voted for Mitt Romney, before I voted against him.” —Joey

    Jason

    June 29, 2011 at 2:15 pm

  2. Why not Cain? Yes, you are right, he probably can’t raise the money. The political system is broken. Only the ‘leaders’ can determine who we get. If the RNC won’t use their money and organizational system to help a candidate out, he/she dies on the vine. Makes me mad.

    short little rebel

    June 29, 2011 at 2:24 pm

  3. Jason, I thought it was fitting.

    SLR, I like Cain, but it is frustrating that money is such an important part of the process.

    Joey

    June 29, 2011 at 2:30 pm

  4. Okay. This is WAY off topic. Except that I really wanted to rate this post as excellent (for the wit and Bill Simmons TM, not necessarily the endorsement.)

    The only way to see the ratings on these posts (or to rate them) is to go to the comments page. How can I know whether it is worth my time and effort to go that far without seeing the ratings?

    Rant over.

    Chris S

    June 30, 2011 at 2:09 pm

  5. Chris,

    We are trying to get Jesse to take some time and fix things like that. You are exactly right. It is annoying that you have to click on the article itself to be able to link it facebook, or see ratings etc. Hopefully Jesse will stop spending so much energy on the tea party, and focus more on important things…like this blog.

    Joey

    June 30, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    • as a fellow Word press user, I have to say that I think it is impossible to do that. Even if you summarize. Now, it is entirely possible that this is template specific. But I can’t tweak this aspect in mine. Further, you can’t trust ratings whatsoever. Because I am a conservative blogger, the inevitable cowardly liberal likes to stop by and give a one star rating. Mind you, they never say anything- they just throw an egg and run off.

      short little rebel

      July 1, 2011 at 11:49 pm

      • thanks for the info…and yes the ratings can be deceiving at times.

        Joey

        July 2, 2011 at 4:15 pm


Leave a Reply

