Number Fifty-One

Tealiberasophoterianistic Perspectives

On Democracy and Endorsements

with 13 comments

By Alex Couch
 
My decicion on who I should endorsement for president is a hard one for a few reasons. First, I do not believe in popular elections for president. The constitution does not say anything about popular elections for presidents and despite widespread misunderstanding, democratic elections are not how we currently choose presidents even today. (Please see article II section I of the constitution.)  The constitution only mentions that Electors vote for President; it mentions nothing about popular vote.  It leaves it up to the states to decide how Electors are chosen, but nowhere is their an indication that Electors would be tied to specific candidates, as they are today. 
 
 For the record, I have a small amount of distrust and a disdain for democracy.  I think all governments should have a small powerful aspect of democracy in it and in America, we have the House of Representatives. The role of the House was to represent the people. Because of the obsession and misunderstanding of democracy, America has democratized everything.  (As a sidenote, I blame America’s obsession with democracy on Andrew Jackson.  Although I have a certain amount of respect for Jackson’s policies and character, I can never forgive him for this.)  Both the president and the Senate are not supposed to represent the people. Democracy is not always most conducive for accomplishing tasks. Furthermore, I believe that many of the problems in Washington stem from over democratization. I plan to go into this more in the future, but for the sake of this post, I do not believe that mine or anyone else’s endorsement should matter for president to anyone besides those chosen by the states to elect our president.  However, overtime the popular vote in each state has become to mean something. So for now I will play the game until that day when the mistake of popular elections for president are eradicated. 
 
I understand that this view is historically ultra-conservative. On this and some other views, I am a pretty conservative guy. On other issues, I am pretty liberal. This is the second reason why choosing a candidate is tough. No candidate represents my beliefs. All of the candidates are populists. So I am forced to choose the cleanest dirty shirt.
 
The third and final reason that makes my decision so hard is that I am a practical realist. I do no want to waste my vote or endorsement.
 
I am going to list the things that are important in choosing my candidate and then list who best supports each aspect. Then I will look at my list and decide who I will endorse. Before I begin, let me first make 3 quick side notes. First, while I write this post, I have not yet decided who I am choosing. I am using this exercise to help in my decision. Secondly, I am going to choose only among those who have declared they are running.  Thirdly, I cannot support someone who has the same spirit as a serial killer.
 
The Important Issues
 
Abortion
Immigration
Fiscal Policy
Gay Marriage
Health Care
 
One these particular issues, I support Huntsman’s position.
 
Electability and Fundraising – Romney
Integrity and Honesty – Paul
Gut Instinct – Cain
Most Political Experience – Huntsman
 
For now, (only because Jake forcing to make a decision) and based on that list, I am endorsing Huntsman. However, among the four candidates I mentioned, I am willing to vote for any of them.
Written by Jake Phillips

June 30, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Because I almost completely agree with Alex’s points about the system of electing the President, and because I recognize his comments were as short as they were radical, I can promise that a further and more detailed defense for his statements will be coming in a later post.

    Jake Phillips

    June 30, 2011 at 2:04 pm

  2. Alex, you wild animal.

    Joey

    June 30, 2011 at 2:15 pm

  3. I agree with a lot of your statements Alex. We really started drifting away when Senators went to be elected from being appointed by governors. Senators were supposed to represent the state governments!!!
    For the record I am currently putting my time and energy this political season behind Herman Cain.

    Carl

    June 30, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    • Or chosen by the legislator…but exactly. Democracy has crept into our system. It was either part of a progressive agenda or because of political expediency. If Herman Cain can start raising money and getting organized then he might have a chance. I like Cain.

      Alex Couch

      June 30, 2011 at 6:43 pm

      • You know, it’s interesting, I would’ve thought that Cain’s Muslim comments would have hurt him more than it did. I wonder if it’s because he’s more of a fringe candidate, and if he had been more mainstream at the time, if it would’ve affected him more adversely.

        Jake Phillips

        June 30, 2011 at 6:58 pm

  4. Jake: what makes you think I would have a heart attack? We are not a democracy, we are a republic.

    Alex: Voting for Huntsman is a waste of a vote.

    Jesse P.

    June 30, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    • I just didn’t think you would like the idea of not voting for the presidency and senators, given your power-to-the-people rhetoric :).

      Jake Phillips

      June 30, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    • Jesse: That is why I hate publicly saying this early. Huntsman has tons of time. Right now it might be a waste of vote but in 4 months he might have the lead. I think because Cain has never ran a big election before he might be a wasted voted, but Huntsman has run big elections and won. McCain was way behind, if I am not mistaken, at this time in the 08 election.

      Alex Couch

      June 30, 2011 at 6:46 pm

  5. If you were really a practical realist, you would realize that your vote and the vote of everyone who would care about your endorsement isn’t going to actually sway a national election so you might as well vote for someone you believe in.

    jamestschannen

    July 1, 2011 at 12:01 am

  6. What is wrong with this picture? We are in a fiscal crisis and why do these idiots spend mental energy on abortion, gay marriage, banning Sharia law, English only laws, Planned Parenthood, NPR, NEA, … things meant to divide, foster hate, eliminate rights, etc…

    Which side of the aisle do ALL of this issues come from? The side that has become mentally ill with such foolish obsessions.

    Such people need to start a new christian theocratic nation and leave these UNITED States of America alone and quit trumpeting these foolish obsessions so America can solve real problems address serious issues like the deficit, jobs, infrastructure, education, innovation, international relations, research and development.

    Ellen

    July 1, 2011 at 12:16 am

    • Ellen, you speak against hate and then call millions of people foolish, mentally-ill idiots. I may actually agree with some of your points, but it is impossible to have any sort of rational discussion with someone who is filled with as much hatred as you are. Maybe take a yoga class or something.

      Jason

      July 1, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    • Seriously, try this (for me) next time: Make your point without stooping to name calling. Try to make a rational argument as best you can without making personal attacks. Even if you don’t agree with another person’s religion or viewpoints, you should still respect them—even if they don’t treat you with the same respect. I think we could agree on a lot of points, but I simply can’t defend the way you go about making your arguments.

      Jason

      July 1, 2011 at 1:11 pm

  7. Today’s political climate has evolved to a point of radicalism … on one side. Bill explains it well, funny but true:

    Ellen

    July 1, 2011 at 2:28 pm


Leave a Reply

